Day of (Relative) Rest

Charlie readying himself before an 8-mile bike ride Shocking development: Sunday was actually a day of rest around here. Charlie slept in past 9am and also took an afternoon snooze. It was as gray and rainy as Saturday had been bright and sunshine-y (good thing, or I think we would have skipped the Folk Festival), indeed the sort of day when curling up on the couch under a blanket is simply called for.

I took advantage of the situation to grade papers and vacuum the basement. (I don't vacuum as much as I'd like as the noise definitely doesn't appeal to Charlie and there are certainly other ways to keep the floor tidy.)

Usually Charlie taking a nap has been a portent of a really late bedtime and, consequently, a lot of trouble waking up in time for school. Recent experience has led me to conclude, maybe a later bedtime wouldn't be such a bad idea: Last Sunday, Charlie was asleep by 7pm and proceed to wake up at 4am on Monday, leading to a second week of incredibly early starts to the day leading me to turn this blog temporarily into one on autism and sleep issues

I suspect I'm going to be writing more on this particular topic in the not so distant future (you know, tomorrow most likely). I've been a/bemused to have discovered that the New York Times has a whole blog, All-Nighters, on insomnia, though the posts so far are written from a first-person perspective, and not by sleep-deprived parents of children with disabilities who have no problem with falling asleep, it's just that they can't until their child (who needs constant supervision) does. Since I work in a community–a college campus—where lack of sleep is something of the norm (for the student population, at any rate), I've been commenting to my classes that I've been on a schedule more similar to theirs of late, except that my wake-up-times (1, 2, 3, 4, and 5am) coincide more or less with the times they go to sleep. 

(As a result, I have been learning more than I've wanted to know about the efficacy of various energy drinks and 'shots' that make my black coffee look positively tame.)

Gray day or night, we, and Charlie, went out 'as per usual.' He wanted a long walk in the morning; I felt that sense of 'mom does know best sometimes' as I had brought along the blue fleece jacket he's been ignoring. I simply draped it, cape-like, over his shoulders as we started down the sidewalk and Charlie proceeded to slip in his arms without missing a step. He didn't bother with the hood: Not surprisingly for a boy who loves the ocean, Charlie doesn't seem to mind getting wet, or at least walking in rainstorms. 

After he got up, Jim took out the bikes and they went for an 8-mile ride, quite a bit 'shorter' than yesterday's. 

Speaking of which, I am dismayed to say that I incorrectly reported the length of Saturday's long ride as 12 miles. Sunday evening, Jim drove the route. Charlie looked around and grinned and I must say I was impressed, even before Jim read out the distance from the white car's odometer: 15.4 miles.

Which more than explains why a little rest is in order, if occasionally.

He bikes so fast he's a blur!
 

Comments
2 Responses to “Day of (Relative) Rest”
  1. Regina says:

    As you stated, having a shifted personal clock is a far cry from being sleep deprived by circumstance. I can certainly relate to the issues described by those at the NYTimes of being personally functional on a 4AM-12noon sleep cycle but structurally nonfunctional because we exist in a 9 to 5 world.
    When did giving up sleep become “virtuous”? Is that a hangover from college and an assumption that serious work demand giving up something (and sleep deprivation is one of those things that in the short haul may have a payoff, but my experience and as seems to be backed up by some science, as a lifestyle has diminishing returns)? It seems similar to the diet conversations. Of course then when you move into real “insomnia” it’s framed as pathology and then additional guilt enters into the whole thing. I wonder what REALLY listening to and paying some respect to the biology, vs. reporting and trying to fix it or plug the holes with stimulants, would tell us?
    Good to hear that you were able to have another low-key day. I’m interested in whether the nap threw a spanner into the sleep schedule or whether it really was “catch-up”. Seems like you all could be due some “catch-up”.
    Take care.

  2. autismvox says:

    It didn’t make for too much of a spammer—bedtime at nearly midnight but we got Charlie up at and out the door (Jim actually, I had already left on the train) by 10 after 8 and they made it to school before 9am.

Leave a Reply

  • What’s all this about?

